Open Thou Mine Eyes

eye_tut_4Tomorrow I have my second eye surgery in 30 years.  The first corrective surgery I had was on my first birthday. Tomorrow’s surgery is on my thirty first birthday.  A friend of mine asked, “WTF?  Do they only do these surgery’s on January 16th?”  I have Strabismus, which is the medical term for “lazy eye.” My parents noticed this when I was an infant and  the doctors wisely advised them that it needed to be taken care of at a young age so that my brain and eyes would grow to work together.  Even though the surgery appeared successful, it was not.  When I was a teenager, the Strabismus became noticeable again and until now I have been living with it.  

The main issue is that I have “monocular” vision, which means my eyes do not work together and I only look out of one eye at a time.  This results in very limited depth perception and seeing the world in a “2D” model instead of the “3D” model that most people see.  This causes some problems, but my brain has learned to adapt to light and shadow to compensate. Otherwise, I frequently would be walking into walls and knocking things over and whatnot.  Well, there is some of that.   🙂

My brain has “decided”, since my eyes don’t work together, that it wants to use my right eye to see the world.  This has caused my left eye to become very weak. If the surgery is successful this time, my eyes will begin to work together and I’ll be able to see the world from a new perspective (literally) and my left eye will gain strength.  With the added benefit that they will be straight, and people won’t think that I’m looking over their shoulder when I’m talking to them.  

There is a caveat.  My brain has to accept the change.  If my brain has “decided” that it is comfortable seeing the world in 2D, I might wind up with double vision after the surgery.  Ahh, the brain and the eyes. Extraordinary yes.  Intelligently Designed, I think not.  

I had my last sit down with the eye surgeon on Tuesday and he asked me if my eyes had miraculously corrected themselves since the last time I saw him.  I responded, “No, and I hope on the day of the surgery you’ll be relying on medical science and not miracles.”  He gave me a big smile.  

I wasn’t quite sure how to take that.   😉

As soon as I’m able to see my laptop again, I’ll let everyone know how it went.  Peace!

6 Responses to “Open Thou Mine Eyes”

  1. Intelligently Designed, I think not.
    Original sin or something.

    Seriously though, good luck.

  2. Hey Bro, happy early birthday. Hope you have a great one! You are in my thoughts and prayers about the surgery. Even though we agree to disagree:) I want you to know that I am blessed to have you as my brother, Danna could not have married a better man. Love you bro-always.

  3. Thanks for the well wishes. I’m excited about it. If anything, this a birthday that I’ll never forget.

  4. Happy Birthday friend! I wish you all the best in your eye surgery. I claim that everything will be well. Keeping you in my prayers.

  5. I’m back home from the surgery. Everything went well. It feels like somebody threw salt or sand in my eyes though. I really won’t know any results for a while but I can already tell that my eyes look straighter and I’m using my left more, even though that’s the one that hurts the most. I’m now off to enjoy my birthday. Thanks for the support everyone!!

  6. Great! First you get eye surgery to straighten them, and then you go out for your birthday and drink til you see double again!! Brilliant!
    I hope for the best, and Happy Birthday!

    PS. I think I’m going to come hang out Friday and may partake in the podcast with you and Mark also.

Leave a Reply

